Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame announces 2011 inductions

PRESS RELEASE - May 27, 2011

Media Contacts: 

Christy Stensland, Executive Director,

(406) 653-3800,  

Aaron Lyles, Director of Finance,

(406) 600-8231,

Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame announces 2011 inductions

Today the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center (MCHF&WHC) announced the fourth class of inductions into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame. The inductees were chosen from candidates nominated by the public and Trustees of the MCHF&WHC that made a notable contribution to the history and culture of Montana through 1960, no matter the year of death or closure. Winners were selected by the MCHF&WHC Trustees. 

This year marks the first time that the MCHF has included a “Living” category in addition to the Legacy Award category. The Class of 2011 includes at least one inductee from each of 12 districts across the state. This year, 15 inductees were selected as Legacy Award recipients and six inductees were selected in the “Living” category.

The 2011 inductees into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame are:

> District 1 (Daniels, Phillips, Roosevelt, Sheridan, & Valley Counties): Legacy Award – Harrah Brothers, Valley County.

> District 2 (Dawson, Garfield, McCone, Prairie, Richland, & Wibaux Counties):Legacy Award – Montana Bill, Fallon community.

> District 3 (Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud, & Treasure Counties): Legacy Award – Chandler “Feeke” TookeLiving Award –Gladys Maria Venable Cain, Miles City (nominated in Living Category but deceased 1/28/11).

> District 4 (Blaine, Choteau, Hill, & Liberty Counties): Legacy Award (two-way tie) – Gregory “Buck” Joseph Henderson, Warrick; & Horace S. Raty, Great Falls.

> District 5 (Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, & Toole Counties): Legacy Award – Brother Van – William Van Orsdel, Fort Benton.

> District 6 (Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, & Wheatland Counties): Legacy Award – James “Jimmy” W. Kaaro, Lewistown;Living Award – Mildred “Mickey” Styer, Roy.

> District 7 (Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, & Yellowstone Counties): Legacy Award – Cyrus B. Mendenhall, Springdale; Living Award –Dr. Barney Old Coyote, Jr. – Ti loska sh wi (White Bison Calf), Crow Reservation.

> District 8 (Broadwater, Jefferson, & Lewis and Clark Counties): Legacy Award (two-way tie) – Harland J. Herrin, Wolf Creek; & Brian D. O’Connell, Helena; Living Award – Stephen Woodrow Mosher, Augusta.

> District 9 (Gallatin, Meagher, & Park Counties): Legacy Award – Johnny Flowers, Big Timber.

> District 10 (Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, & Sanders Counties): Living Award –Fay Haynes, Pablo.

> District 11 (Mineral, Missoula, & Ravalli Counties): Legacy Award –Jeannette Rankin, Missoula.

> District 12 (Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Granite, Madison, & Powell Counties): Legacy Award (three-way tie) – The Brander Sisters, Violet & Margaret, Avon; Charles Frederich Meine, Dillon; & Theodore “Ted” Henry Parini, Butte; Living Award – Benny Reynolds, Twin Bridges.

Since the initial round of inductions to the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame in 2008, including this year’s inductions, 110 historical figures have been honored as inductees. Full biographies for past inductees are available on the MCHF&WHC’s website,

In addition to the announcement of this fourth round of inductions into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame, the MCHF&WHC is announcing that it will be inviting all communities of Montana to respond to a request for proposals for the purpose of identifying the future building location for the organization’s headquarters. This future building site will serve as one of many ways the organization works to honor our cowboy way of life, American Indian cultures and the roots of our Montana Western heritage. The request for proposals invitation will be published on June 1, 2011.

For more information about the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center, or for more details on the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame inductees, please contact Christy Stensland at the MCHF&WHC by calling (406) 653-3800, emailing, or visiting